I don't think being a people person pastor has anything to do with personality.  I think being a people person pastor has something to do with being interested in people. 

What I mean by that is people besides yourself interest you.   What I mean by that is when you are talking with them you are not simply interested in telling them something, you are interested in them.

You want to know the people you pastor.  You want to know what is going in the lives of the people you pastor.  You want to understand the people you pastor.   

Maybe I should say it another way.

If the people we pastor bore us the problem probably, is not with the people we pastor…but with us. 

Or let me try this.

When Paul looked at his ministry and said things like, "I want you to know how great a struggle I have for you and for those at Laodicea and for all those who have not seen me face to face…"  or, "For God is my witness, how I yearn for you all with the affection of Christ Jesus…"  I don't think he was talking just about the times he was behind the pulpit.   

Besides my wife, I honestly haven't yearned for too many people so I'm not claiming to be an expert but I don't see how you can yearn for someone and not be interested in them besides the times you are preaching.  

